Mini-Review: Christmas in Mustang Creek (Linda Lael Miller)

September 30, 2015 Book Reviews 3 ★★★½

Mini-Review: Christmas in Mustang Creek (Linda Lael Miller)Christmas in Mustang Creek by Linda Lael Miller
Series: Brides of Bliss County #4
Published by HQN Books on Sept. 29, 2015
Genres: Christmas, Contemporary Romance
Pages: 272
Format: eARC
Source: the publisher through NetGalley
Goodreads
three-half-stars
Also by this author: Once a Rancher, Always a Cowboy, Forever a Hero

Charlotte Morgan grew up in Mustang Creek, Wyoming, and couldn't wait to escape to the big city. But life in New York isn't as fabulous as she'd like to admit—she's lonely, doing a job she doesn't love and dating too many frogs she meets online.

There was one potential prince, though—Jaxon Locke, a veterinarian with definite possibilities—but his move to Idaho to fill in at his dad's vet practice ended things just as they were getting interesting. What Charlotte doesn't know is that he misses her, more than he expected…

Meanwhile, Charlotte's great-aunt Geneva—the woman who raised her—needs to enter an assisted-living facility. So, just before Christmas, Charlotte moves back home. When Jax catches wind of her move back West, he's determined to get to Wyoming and do whatever it takes to win her back.

Christmas in Mustang Creek is a magical time in a magical place, not least because of a mysterious visitor named Mrs. Klozz. She knows that love is the greatest gift of all, and she's ready to help out Santa by giving these two a push in the right direction!

I received a review copy of this book from the publisher through NetGalley.

Review

Christmas in Mustang Creek reminds me of Debbie Macomber’s Christmas books, but with a little more spice. The resemblance is strongest in the character of Mrs. Klozz, a warm, caring older woman with an almost magical touch in the kitchen, who seems determined to set Charlotte’s life to rights – and Jaxon’s too, while she’s at it. Add in a small town, a huge Victorian house, an adorable puppy, Christmas trees, and even a skiing trip, and you’ve got a comforting Christmas romance. There’s little real conflict, but plenty of warmth and charm. And how can you resist a hero who’s willing to move to a small town in hope of a second chance with the girl who got away?

This was my first introduction to Miller, and I am curious about the previous books in this quartet. Recommended for fans of RaeAnne Thayne and Debbie Macomber (with the caveat that there’s more heat.)

 

three-half-stars

About Linda Lael Miller

The daughter of a town marshal, Linda Lael Miller is a #1 New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author of more than 100 historical and contemporary novels, most of which reflect her love of the West. Raised in Northport, Washington, Linda pursued her wanderlust, living in London and Arizona and traveling the world before returning to the state of her birth to settle down on a horse property outside Spokane.

Linda traces the birth of her writing career to the day when a Northport teacher told her that the stories she was writing were good, that she just might have a future in writing. Later, when she decided to write novels, she endured her share of rejection before she sold Fletcher’s Woman in 1983 to Pocket Books. Since then, Linda has successfully published historicals, contemporaries, paranormals, mysteries and thrillers before coming home, in a literal sense, and concentrating on novels with a Western flavor. For her devotion to her craft, the Romance Writers of America awarded her their prestigious Nora Roberts Lifetime Achievement Award in 2007.

Hallmark Movie Channel is developing a series based on Linda’s Big Sky Country novels. Her latest book, Forever a Hero, is the third in her Carsons of Mustang Creek series. She is currently working on a big-book Civil War series and writing her next western romance.

Dedicated to helping others, “The First Lady of the West” personally financed fifteen years of her Linda Lael Miller Scholarships for Women, which she awarded to women 25 years and older who were seeking to improve their lot in life through education. She anticipates that her next charitable endeavors will benefit four-legged critters.

3 Responses to “Mini-Review: Christmas in Mustang Creek (Linda Lael Miller)”

    • Lark_Bookwyrm

      I know, it seems awfully early for Christmas books, doesn’t it?! One of the publicists specifically asked me to read this one and review during the week of publication, so… I thought of it as “Christmas in September” (instead of Christmas in July)! I’m hoping to save my other Christmas titles for November.