7th Blogoversary Giveaway #4: The Sweetest Dark

August 5, 2016 Giveaway 10 ★★★★½

7th Blogoversary Giveaway #4: The Sweetest Darkby Shana Abe
Series: Sweetest Dark #1
Genres: Historical Fantasy, YA (Young Adult)
Goodreads
four-half-stars
Also in this series: The Sweetest Dark, The Deepest Night
Also by this author: The Sweetest Dark, The Deepest Night

For fans of Lauren Kate and Libba Bray, The Sweetest Dark is filled with thrilling romance, exciting adventure, and ancient magic. Shana Abé brilliantly captures the drama of post-Victorian England, while unfolding a passionate love story that defies time.

“With every fiber of my being, I yearned to be normal. To glide through my days at Iverson without incident. But I’d have to face the fact that my life was about to unfold in a very, very different way than I’d ever envisioned. Normal would become forever out of reach.”

England, 1915. Lora Jones has always known that she’s different. On the outside, she appears to be an ordinary sixteen-year-old girl. Yet Lora’s been keeping a heartful of secrets: She hears songs that no one else can hear, dreams vividly of smoke and flight, and lives with a mysterious voice inside her that insists she’s far more than what she seems.

Raised in an orphanage in a rough corner of London, Lora quickly learns to hide her unique abilities and avoid attention. Then, much to her surprise, she is selected as the new charity student at Iverson, an elite boarding school on England’s southern coast. Iverson’s eerie, gothic castle is like nothing Lora has ever seen. And the two boys she meets there will open her eyes and forever change her destiny.

Jesse is the school’s groundskeeper—a beautiful boy who recognizes Lora for who and what she truly is. Armand is a darkly handsome and arrogant aristocrat who harbors a few closely guarded secrets of his own. Both hold the answers to her past. One is the key to her future. And both will aim to win her heart. As danger descends upon Iverson, Lora must harness the powers she’s only just begun to understand, or else lose everything she dearly loves.

Filled with lush atmosphere, thrilling romance, and ancient magic, The Sweetest Dark brilliantly captures a rich historical era while unfolding an enchanting love story that defies time.

Giveaway

I reviewed The Sweetest Dark back in 2013. It’s a beautiful, haunting YA historical fantasy and, with 4.5 stars, one of the best books I read that year. Three years later, I still remember it vividly, and will probably re-read it in the next year or two. Yes, it was that good!

I have one Kindle copy to give away to a lucky reader. The only restrictions are that you have to be at least 16 and able to download Kindle books from Amazon.com. I really hope you enjoy this book as much as I did!

 

four-half-stars

About Shana Abe

Shana Abe was born in Texas, spent most of her childhood in Colorado, and worked as a model in Japan when she was seventeen. She got her start writing romances, publishing several medieval romances before eventually turning to historical paranormal/fantasy romances with her Drákon series (The Smoke Thief, The Dream Thief, Queen of Dragons, The Treasure Keeper, and The Time Keeper.) The Sweetest Dark series is her first foray into YA; the books are loosely related to the Drákon books, but can be read as a standalone series.

10 Responses to “7th Blogoversary Giveaway #4: The Sweetest Dark”

  1. Rita @ View From My Books

    How wonderful! We were just discussing this author recently. I mentioned I’d read her first two Dragon series books. I just ordered the third one in that series so I could continue after our chat, and am hoping I remember what happened in the first 2.

    I don’t know anything about this one but it sounds great. I enjoy the depth and detail of Ms. Abe’s settings and storylines. If I don’t win I might look for the paperback of it, since my library doesn’t have it.

    Thanks for your blogoversary giveaways. I’m lurking around the blogosphere as I fight off “the blahs” and have taken another short break from posting. Talk to you soon.
    Rita @ View From My Books recently posted…Continuing My Summer Siesta- or Break- For A BitMy Profile

    • Lark_Bookwyrm

      I really want to read her adult series. The Sweetest Dark is set in the same universe, but later in the timeline, and aimed at young adults rather than adults.

      I hope you get over your “blahs” soon. It’s a horrid feeling! I’ve been having a hard time getting posts up, too, but mostly because I’ve been so busy!

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge