My Most Anticipated Books – First Half of 2023

January 10, 2023 Top Ten Tuesday 16

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature/meme now hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl. The meme was originally the brainchild of The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is Most Anticipated Books Releasing in the First Half of 2023.

My Most Anticipated Books in the First Half of 2023

Of Manners and Murder, by Anastasia Hastings (Feb. 7, 2023). The first in a new series of Victorian mysteries, featuring an Agony Aunt (advice) columnist.

Bound for Perdition, by Celia Lake (Feb. 2023; date uncertain) – cover art and link not yet available. I discovered Celia Lake’s Albion books late in 2021, and fell in love with them. Gentle, low-angst historical fantasy, usually with a romance.

The Fairy Bargains of Prospect Hill, by Rowenna Miller (Mar. 1, 2023) Fairy bargains and a young woman trying to free her sister from an abusive husband, set in Victorian England or an analog thereof.

A Sinister Revenge, by Deanna Raybourn (Mar. 7, 2023) The newest in the Veronica Speedwell historical mystery series. Need I say more?

Flowerheart, by Catherine Bakewell (Mar. 14, 2023) The publisher’s blurb bills this as “Perfect for fans of Margaret Rogerson and Tamora Pierce, this standalone YA debut is a stunning cottagecore fantasy romance about a girl with powerful and violent magic, which she must learn to control—or lose everything she loves.” Sounds perfect!

The Sinister Booksellers of Bath, by Garth Nix (Mar. 21, 2023) I loved The Left-Handed Booksellers of London, so I can’t wait to read this sequel.

The Last Heir to Blackwood Library, by Hester Fox (Apr. 4, 2023) “In post–World War I England, a young woman inherits a mysterious library and must untangle its powerful secrets… a skillful reflection on memory and female agency, and a love letter to books from a writer at the height of her power.” It looks like gothic-infused historical fantasy (or maybe magical realism.)

Silver in the Bone, by Alexandra Bracken (Apr. 4, 2023) First in a series influenced by Arthurian legend. To be honest, it may be too dark for me, but the Arthurian aspect has me intrigued. (And the cover is gorgeous!)

The Bride Wore White, by Amanda Quick (May 2, 2023) Book 7 in the Burning Cove series, historical romantic suspense with a dash of the paranormal. Quick’s books are always fun; she’s one of my autobuy authors.

Identity, by Nora Roberts (May 23, 2023) In NR’s latest romantic suspense, the heroine is on the run from a conman who steals women’s identities and murders them. It’s Nora Roberts, so it’s bound to be good. (Roberts would be another of my autobuy authors, but some of her books include elements that trigger my anxiety. So while I read most of her books when they come out, there are some I skip. This one looks like it will be fine for me.)

Psyche and Eros, by Luna McNamara (May 30, 2023) A retelling of the Greek myth. I love retellings of Beauty and the Beast and East of the Sun, West of the Moon, both of which include elements of the Eros and Psyche myth, so I’m looking forward to this retelling of the original tale.

Old As The Hills, by Celia Lake (May 2023; date uncertain) – cover art and link not yet available. (See note above re Celia Lake’s books.)

Remember Me, by Mary Balogh (June 20, 2023) I’ve been a fan of Balogh’s historical romances for about 20 years now; she’s an autobuy author for me. This is the sequel to Remember Love, which I admit was not a favorite, but I’m still excited to read it.

Gryphon in Light, by Mercedes Lackey and Larry Dixon (June 27, 2023) – cover art not yet available. I expected that the next Valdemar book would be book 3 in the Founding of Valdemar series, so I am quite surprised to discover that she and her husband and collaborator are starting a new series focused on Kelvren, the gryphon character from the Owl Mage trilogy (Owlflight, Owlsight, and Owlknight) . But I love Kelvren, and have been wondering what happens after Owlknight, so I can’t wait to read it.

Upon a Summer’s Day, by Celia Lake (late June 2023; date uncertain) – cover art and link not yet available. (See note above re Celia Lake’s books.)

Already released:

Sleep No More, by Jayne Ann Krentz (Jan. 3, 2023)

Emily Wilde’s Encyclopedia of Faeries, by Heather Fawcett (Jan. 10, 2023)

16 Responses to “My Most Anticipated Books – First Half of 2023”

  1. Jessica @ a GREAT read

    OOh nice ones! I’m curious for Bracken’s new book as well! The Fairy Bargains of Prospect Hill and Psyche and Eros both sound intriguing! Will have to keep an eye on those!

    Thanks for visiting my TTT!

  2. Katherine

    Adding that Amanda Quick book to my TBR! I love the Burning Cove series. I’m looking forward to the Nora Roberts and the first in the trilogy that is coming out later in the year looks good as well. I’m hoping to read more Mary Balogh books this year. I really enjoy her books but haven’t read very much of them.

  3. Jo

    The Sinister Booksellers of Bath was on my list this week too. Of Manners and Murder sounds really fun, so thanks for helping me find yet another book to add to my TBR!
    Jo recently posted…Top Ten Tuesday #402My Profile

    • Lark_Bookwyrm

      I have stayed pretty well caught up in that series, but someday, I want to go back and reread them one after another, instead of a year apart. They’re so much fun!

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.